Ignition Interlock License and Device Applicant Process

Please read these instructions carefully and completely prior to making application for the Ignition Interlock Program

1. To apply for an Ignition Interlock License and Device (IID), the Applicant must be authorized by the Court. 
2. Following court approval the Applicant is required to: 
· Submit Kentucky Transportation Cabinet (KYTC) IID Application (form TC 94-175), found online at http://drive.ky.gov/ or go to a field office or one stop office.
Field Office contact information and information for the One Stop shop can be found at the above mentioned website.
·  Pay the $105.00 non-refundable fee (Forms of payment accepted are Credit Card, Debit Card,  Certified Check or Money Order made payable to: KY State Treasurer)
· Provide proof of insurance
· Provide a valid vehicle registration
3. If you feel your volume of breath is diminished, you will need to submit a Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Physician Statement (form TC 94-176), completed by your physician, with your application.
4. After the information is submitted and the fee paid, the Transportation Cabinet will issue a letter describing your eligibility based upon what appears on your driver history record. If you believe your drivers history record shows suspensions, violations, convictions or other events that may render you ineligible for an ignition interlock device and license, you may wish to order a 5 year driver history record prior to paying the $105 non-refundable application fee.
5. Once eligibility is established, you may contact an Ignition Interlock Device provider for a list of installation locations online at http://drive.ky.gov/
6. After the Ignition Interlock Device is installed, you are required to take the Certificate of Installation (form TC 94-177), given to you by the installer, to the Circuit Court Clerk in your county of residence for an Ignition Interlock License.
7. Once your Ignition Interlock License is issued, you are only eligible to operate a motor vehicle equipped with an Ignition Interlock Device. Driving a vehicle prior to obtaining this license can result in additional citations, fines or possibly incarceration.
8. The Transportation Cabinet will send a letter reminding you of the date the Ignition Interlock Device can be removed. This letter will also include the status of your required drug and alcohol classes. If you reach this date and your drug and alcohol classes have not been completed, your Driver License will be suspended on that date for failure to complete those classes and cannot be reinstated until this requirement is met.
9. You may contact the Ignition Interlock Device installer to schedule the Ignition Interlock Device removal on or after the removal date.
10. Once the Ignition Interlock Device is removed, you are required to take the Certificate of Removal (form TC 94-178) to the Circuit Court Clerk in your county of residence to have an In-force valid Kentucky driver license issued with the ignition interlock device restriction removed.
