Kentucky International Registration Plan Apportioned Registration



Policies and Procedures Manual

Kentucky Transportation Cabinet Licensing & Registration Branch IRP Section 200 Mero Street P O Box 2323 Frankfort, KY 40602-2323 Phone: (502) 564-1257 Fax: (502) 564-1257 Fax: (502) 564-2950 irp.dmc@ky.gov https://drive.ky.gov/motor-carriers/Pages/International-Registration-Plan.aspx

Revised 5/2022

CHAPTER		PAGE
1.	What is IRP?	1
2.	Applications	1
3.	ProceduresA. NEW ACCOUNTSB. RENEWAL APPLICATIONSC. VEHICLE ADDITIONSD. VEHICLE TRANSFERS/EXCHANGEE. CAB CARD REPLACEMENT.F. REFUNDS/CREDITS	2 2 2 3
4.	Fee Calculation	3
5.	Record Keeping Requirements	3-4
6.	Kentucky Regulations	4
7.	Definitions	4-6
8.	Performance and Registration Info. Systems Mgmt. (PRISM)	6-7
9.	Frequently Asked Questions	7-9
10.	Contact Information	9

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Chapter 1 WHAT IS IRP?



The International Registration Plan (IRP) is a registration reciprocity agreement among states of the United States and provinces of Canada providing for payment of license fees on the basis of fleet miles operated in various jurisdictions.

This manual was developed to assist you with the most general procedures involved in the licensing of your IRP vehicles in the state of Kentucky. Please visit the IRP Internet site at: https://drive.ky.gov/motor-

<u>carriers/Pages/International-Registration-Plan.aspx</u> for more information. The site has links to other related government agency, the IRP agreement, IRP forms and provides all required documents.

WHO MUST IRP APPORTION REGISTER?

Any carrier operating or intending to operate one (1) or more apportionable vehicle into or through two (2) or more of the member jurisdictions must be IRP registered or purchase trip permits from each participating jurisdiction. For a definition of Apportionable Vehicle, see 601 KAR 9:135 (https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/kar/titles/601/0 09/135/).

Chapter 2	
APPLICATIONS	

FORMS

IRP Schedule TC 95-303C - Kentucky IRP apportioned registration application

IRP Schedule TC 95-303B – List the previous fiscal year (July through June) mileage (if listing actual miles enter mileage by each jurisdiction). Sign the bottom of the form if using estimated mileage. If previously listed in another jurisdiction, applicants must report actual mileage and provide a copy of the IRP cab card for each vehicle registered.

TC 95-641 Operational Lease Agreement -

Carriers leasing onto another companies USDOT or MC number for "Motor Carrier Responsible for Safety", must provide and ensure both party's sign.

Schedule 1 HVUT/Form 2290 (Heavy Vehicle Usage Tax) – This form is required to be filed within 60 days of the purchase date and annually on vehicles registered for weights 55,000lbs and above. To file online visit the IRS online site at https://www.irs.gov/.

MCS 150 – Carriers are required to file and update their USDOT **biennial** (once every 2 years) with the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA). All updates are done online at <u>https://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/</u>.

Power of Attorney – A Power of Attorney will be required if a third party (someone other than the owner/applicant) is signing documents or attempting to obtain confidential information regarding a carriers account. Kentucky has no formal format for the POA form, but it must be signed by both parties, dated, and notarized.

Apportion Certificates – Carriers apply for a certificate of title (apportion certificate) through their local county clerk's office.

Chapter 3 PROCEDURES

NEW ACCOUNTS (US DOT/MC authority must be active before applying for IRP).



Go online for a copy of the IRP "New Account Checklist":<u>https://drive.ky.gov/motor-</u>

<u>carriers/Pages/International-Registration-Plan.aspx</u> Applicants must submit a **complete** packet of all required documents to <u>IRP.DMC@KY.GOV</u>. Failure to provide a completed packet will result in

rejection (via e-mail) of the submission. One Stop Shop accepts drop off only on new accounts and shall allow up to 14 days for review/processing. Once approved, the applicant will receive an approval e-mail with instructions and link to log into their account and print their permanent cab card and inform that the permanent plate will be mailed.

Required forms and documents:

- ✓ IRP Schedule TC 95-303C (IRP apportion registration application)
- ✓ IRP Schedule TC 95-303B (report estimated or actual miles traveled in the reporting period)
- ✓ Proof of Company Ownership (copy of applicants valid Kentucky Drivers license/CDL/Real ID)
- ✓ Proof of Residency/Established place of Business (Kentucky physical address, where fleet records are maintained in Kentucky)
- ✓ Must provide 3 proofs of residency (all proofs should match the TC 95-303B applicant's physical address. Examples of proof would be Kentucky issued valid drives license, Articles of Incorporation, prior year state or federal income tax return, mortgage statement, utility bills, certificate of title or bank statement (less than 60 days old).

RENEWALS

Notifications are sent out via email to the primary contact 45 days before the registration period. From the online dashboard in the <u>Motor Carrier Portal</u> the carriers should:

- 1) Click on the renewal widget
- 2) Enter actual miles for the renewal reporting period
- 3) Upload required documents
- 4) Pay the bill generated

Payment of the bill will provide the option to then print the temporary cab card which is legal to operate on (when accompanied by all other state/federal active credentials). The "Required Material Documents" button will display until the account has been reviewed and approved by state staff. Once approved an approval e-mail will be sent with instructions and the link to print permanent cab card and plate (if required) will be mailed the next business day.

VEHICLE ADDITIONS

From our on-line dashboard in the Motor Carrier Portal,:

- 1) Click on Start a supplement"
- 2) This will bring you to a Weights and Units page. Scroll down to the Units section and click Add Unit.
- 3) Enter the title number of the vehicle in the search field and click search
- 4) Once on the Maintain Unit page, you will enter the vehicle details. (Be sure to tab over QC Axels, as this field will autofill when tabbed over). Also, be sure to press the "Factory Default" and that info will autofill); click and save
- 5) You should now be back at the to the Weights and Units page of the transaction. Scroll down to the unit's section and make sure you see the + symbol next to the VIN # that you added.
- 6) Click Validate and Calculate Fees.
- 7) Review the fee summary. If you have any documents to upload (2290 or a lease), you will do it here by clicking on the Maintain Required Materials. Once you've done that, click File Application at the bottom.
- 8) Apply the payment and click "Finish"
- 9) Once the payment has posted, you will be able to print your cab cards from the "receive credentials" page of the transaction.

VEHICLE TRANSFERS/EXCHANGE

From the online dashboard in the Motor Carrier Portal the carrier should:

- 1) Click on Exchange Unit.
- 2) From the Units section of this page and then select Exchange Units (on the right side in a dark blue box)
- 3) Select the VIN that you'd like to remove from your registration.
- 4) Enter the title number in the Vehicle Search field, and then click Search.
- 5) Enter the vehicle details on Maintain Unit page.
- 6) Scroll down to "Plate Actions". "Transfer Plate" is preselected, current plate will transfer to the new vehicle.
- 7) Scroll down to the bottom of the page and click Save Unit.
- 8) Save and Calculate

9) Pay bill and under "Received Credentials" you can print a permanent cab card.

CAB CARD/PLATE REPLACEMENT

From our on-line dashboard in the Motor Carrier Portal

- 1) Click on Start a supplement.
- 2) Scroll down to the Units part of the page and click on the VIN# of the vehicle you need a plate replacement on
- From the Maintain Unit page, scroll down to the bottom of this page – and select replace plate – then save unit.
- 4) You will be brought back to the "Weights and Units" page, scroll down to the very bottom of the screen (on your right) and click on the "Validate and calculate fees" button.
- 5) This will take you to the "Application Fee Summary" page in which you will click on "File Application" and then make your payment. The existing plate would have to be mailed back to our office before a new plate can be issued. If you do not have the existing plate, then a notarized affidavit would need to be completed and uploaded to this transaction for approval by our office.
- 6) Once you have paid, you will receive a confirmation number, and then click "Finish"
- 7) Now you will be on the "Receive Credentials" tab of the supplement, where you will be able to print out a copy of the temporary cab card. Once your plate is assigned from our office, and you receive it, you can come back to this transaction and print out the permanent cab card.

CREDIT/REFUNDS

Plate and original cab must be returned for credits or refunds. A credit/refund will be for the unused portion of Kentucky fees only. Fees for other jurisdictions are not refundable on used plates. A copy of the lease agreement is required for leased units.

> Chapter 4 FEE CALCULATION

Total Kentucky fees are based on a combination of the ad valorem fee, weight fee and Kentucky mileage percentage. Year of purchase factor changes yearly. Total IRP fee is based



on the Kentucky fee and fees for other jurisdictions according to the rates and mileage percentages for each jurisdiction. For a copy of the current fee schedules, contact the IRP office at 502-564-1257.

Example Fee Calculation

Note: This is a simple fee calculation for only two jurisdictions. In many instances fee calculation involves numerous jurisdictions.

KY Ad Valorem Fee- Purchase Price (\$100,000.00) X Year of Purchase Factor (.00629) = \$629.00

\$629.00 X Kentucky Mileage Percentage (.50) = \$314.50

KY Weight Fee- 80,000 Pound Weight Fee (\$1,410.00) X Kentucky Mileage Percentage (.50) = \$705.00

OH Weight Fee- 80,000 Pound Weight Fee (\$1,340.00) X Ohio Mileage Percentage (.50) = \$670.00

Total KY Fee- \$314.50 + \$705.00 = \$1,019.50 **Total IRP Fee-** \$1,019.50 + \$670.00 = \$1,689.50

Note: The ad valorem fee is not applicable to any current year purchase and is not prorated.

Chapter 5 RECORD KEEPING REQUIREMENTS



An acceptable source document used to verify fleet mileage is some type of "Individual Vehicle Mileage Record(s)" (IVMR's) which shall contain the following information:

(This may be, but is not limited to trip sheets, drivers' logs, dispatch logs, or bills of lading.)

- 1. Date of trip (starting and ending).
- 2. Trip origin and destination.
- 3. Route of travel and/or beginning and ending odometer or hub-odometer reading of the trip.

- 4. Total trip miles.
- 5. Mileage by jurisdiction.
- 6. Unit number or vehicle identification number (VIN) and may include at the discretion of the base jurisdiction the following additional information.
- 7. Vehicle fleet number;
- 8. Registrant's name;
- 9. Trailer number; and
- 10. Driver's signature and/or name.

These IMVR's may be supplemented by trip sheets, driver's logs, dispatch logs, or bills of lading.

Computer printouts that are merely recaps are **not** acceptable. They must be supported by IVMR's in order to be of value for audit. The operational records must be presented in unit number order, in sequence by date. The mileage recaps used to complete your application should be provided as well.

Failure to present the requested mileage records could result in cancellation of your apportion privileges.

Be Advised: If drivers logs are your only detailed record of origin and destinations, you <u>must</u> keep them to support your IRP application. **DO NOT THROW THEM AWAY.** All records **MUST** be retained by the taxpayer for a period of five 9) years.

Chapter 6 KENTUCKY REGULATIONS

KRS 186.050

KENTUCKY STATUTE FOR IRP

(13) (a) The Department of Vehicle Regulation is authorized to negotiate and execute an agreement or agreements for the purpose of developing and instituting proportional registration of motor vehicles engaged in interstate commerce, or in a combination of interstate and intrastate commerce, and operating into, through or within the Commonwealth of Kentucky. The agreement or agreements may be made on a basis commensurate with, and determined by, the miles traveled on, and use made of, the highways of this Commonwealth as compared with the miles traveled on and use made of highways of other states, or upon any other equitable basis of proportional registration.

Notwithstanding the provisions of KRS 186.020, the cabinet shall promulgate administrative regulations concerning the registration of motor vehicles under any agreement or agreements made under this section and shall provide for direct issuance by it of evidence of payment of any registration fee required under such agreement or agreements. Any proportional registration fee required to be collected under any proportional registration agreement or agreements shall be in accordance with the taxes established in this section.

(b) Any owner of a commercial vehicle who is required to title his motor vehicle under this section shall first title such vehicle with the county clerk pursuant to KRS 186.020 for a state fee of one dollar (\$1). Title to such vehicle may be transferred; however title without proper registration shall not authorize the operation or use of the vehicle on any public highway. Any commercial vehicle properly titled in Kentucky may also be registered in Kentucky, and, upon payment of the required fees, the department may issue an apportioned registration plate to such commercial vehicle.

(c) Any commercial vehicle that is properly titled in a foreign jurisdiction, which vehicle is subject to apportioned registration, as provided in paragraph (a) of this subsection, may be registered in Kentucky, and, upon proof of proper title, and payment of the required fees, the department may issue an apportioned registration plate to the commercial vehicle. The department shall promulgate administrative regulations in accordance with this section.

Chapter 7 DEFINITIONS

APPORTIONABLE VEHICLE

Apportionable Vehicle means (except as provided below) any Power Unit that is used or intended for use in two or more Member Jurisdictions and that is used for the transportation of persons for hire or designed, used, or maintained primarily for the transportation of property, and:

(i) has two Axles and a gross Vehicle weight or registered gross Vehicle weight in excess of 26,000 pounds (11,793.401 kilograms), or

(ii) has three or more Axles, regardless of weight, or

(iii) is used in combination, when the gross Vehicle weight of such combination exceeds 26,000 pounds (11,793.401 kilograms).

A Recreational Vehicle, a Vehicle displaying Restricted Plates, a bus used in the transportation of chartered parties or a government-owned Vehicle, is not an Apportionable Vehicle; except that a Truck or Truck Tractor, or the Power Unit in a Combination of Vehicles having a gross Vehicle weight of 26,000 pounds (11,793.401 kilograms), or less, and a bus used in the transportation of chartered parties, nevertheless may be registered under the Plan at the option of the Registrant.

NON-APPORTIONALBE VEHICLES

A recreation vehicle or a vehicle displaying a restricted or government plate is not an apportionable vehicle; except that a power unit, or the power unit in a combination of vehicles having a gross vehicle weight of 26,000 pounds of 11, 793.401 kilograms, or less, may be registered under the plan at the option of the registrant.

IRP VEHICLE CLASSIFICATIONS

- Bus (BS) A motor vehicle designed to carry passengers. Includes limousines and vans.
- 2) Wrecker (TW) No definition
- 3) Tractor (TR) A motor vehicle designed and used primarily for drawing other vehicles but not so constructed as to carry a load other than a part of the weight of the vehicles and load so drawn
- 4) **Truck/straight** (**TK**) A power unit designed, used, or maintained primarily for the transportation of property.
- 5) **Truck-Tractor (TT)** A motor vehicle designed and used primarily for drawing other vehicles, but so constructed as to carry a load other than a part of the weight of the vehicle and load so drawn.

BASE JURISDICTION

Base jurisdiction means the member jurisdiction, selected in accordance with Section 305, to which an applicant applies for apportioned registration under the Plan or the member jurisdiction that issues apportioned registration under the Plan.

ESTABLISHED PLACE OF BUSINESS

Established Place of Business means a physical structure located within the base jurisdiction that is owned or leased by the applicant or registrant and

whose street address shall be specified by the applicant or registrant. This physical structure shall be open for business and shall be staffed during regular business hours by one or more persons employed by the applicant or registrant on a permanent basis (i.e., not an independent contractor) for the purpose of the general management of the applicant's or registrant's trucking-related business (i.e., not limited to credentialing, distance, and fuel reporting, and answering telephone inquiries). The applicant or registrant need not have land line telephone service at the physical structure. Operational records concerning the fleet shall be maintained at this physical structure (unless such records are to be made available in accordance with the provisions of Section 1020 of the plan). The base jurisdiction may accept information it deems pertinent to verify that an applicant or registrant has an established place of business within the base jurisdiction.

ESTIMATED DISTANCE

Estimated Distance means either (i) the anticipated distance a Fleet is expected to travel in a Member Jurisdiction during an applicable Registration Year as reported by an Applicant or (ii) the distance assigned to the Fleet by the Base Jurisdiction as determined in Section 320.

RESIDENCE

Residence means the status of an applicant or a registrant as a resident of a member jurisdiction.

REPORTING PERIOD

Reporting period means, except as provided below, the period of twelve consecutive months immediately prior to July 1 of the calendar year immediately preceding the beginning of the Registration Year for which apportioned registration is sought. If the Registration Year begins on any date in July, August, or September, the Reporting Period shall be the previous such twelve-month period.

RESTRICTED PLATE

Restricted Plate means a plate that has a time, geographic area, distance, or commodity restriction or a mass transit or other special plate issued for a bus leased or owned by a municipal government, a state or provincial transportation authority, or a private party, and operated as part of an urban mass transit system, as defined by the Jurisdiction that issues the plate.

TOTAL DISTANCE

Total distance means all distance, including that accrued on trip permits, operated by a fleet of apportioned vehicles in all member jurisdictions during the reporting period.

GROSS VEHICLE WEIGHT RATING (GVWR)

The maximum operating weight of a vehicle as specified by the manufacturer including the vehicle's chassis, body, engine, engine fluids, fuel, accessories, driver, passengers, and cargo but excluding that of any trailers.

GROSS COMBINED WEIGHT RATING (GCWR)

The specific weight determined by the manufacturer to be the maximum weight of a loaded vehicle and its attached loaded trailer (this is the weight shown on the cab card).

UNLADEN WEIGHT

The weight of a vehicle fully equipped for service excluding the weight of the load

REGISTERED WEIGHT

The weight for which a vehicle, or a combination of vehicles, have been licensed or registered for. Note: this weight will not always be the same as the GVWR or GCWR. It can be less if the carrier never travels at the maximum weight, but never more than the vehicle is rated to carry.

FIXED WEIGHT GROUP

All jurisdictions of travel will have the same weight as the base jurisdictions weight declared.

HEAVY WEIGHT

Some states allow vehicles to haul over 80,000lbs. A list of these weight limits by state are available on the IRP Inc. website (https://www.irponline.org/). Vehicles can be registered for the extended weights individually when they intend to haul at the higher limit. It is the registrant's responsibility to ensure their vehicle is rated to carry at these higher weights and obtain any additional overweight permits required by the state in addition to the IRP registration.

MOTOR BUS APPORTIONMENT

Application filing – The application of a passenger carrier for apportion registration shall designate which, if any, of its vehicles are assigned to a pool.

Determination of Distance – The apportionable fees of a fleet that is involved in a pool may be calculated using apportionment percentages or, in the alternative, at the option of the applicant, the apportionment percentage may be calculated by dividing (a) the scheduled route distance operated in the member jurisdiction by the vehicles in the pool by (b) the sum of the scheduled route distances operated in all the member jurisdictions by the vehicles in the pool. Scheduled route distances shall be determined from the farthest point of origination to the farthest point of destination covered by the pool. If a registrant has used this method to register its fleet for the registration year, it shall also use the same method to register any apportionable vehicles it may add to its fleet during the year.

WHAT AN APPORTIONED REGISTRATION <u>WILL NOT</u> DO

- ✓ Exempt a carrier from payment of motor fuel taxes
- ✓ Allow the carrier to exceed legal size and weight limits without first obtaining the necessary permit(s)

A complete list of definitions can be found on the International Registration Plan, Inc's website.

http://www.irponline.org/resource/resmgr/publi cations/irp_plan_1.1.11.pdf

Chapter 8 PERFORMANCE AND REGISTRATION INFORMATION SYSTEMS MANAGEMENT (PRISM)

What Is PRISM?

PRISM is a cooperative Federal/State safety program designed to identify motor carriers with deficient safety records, and to tie a motor carrier's safety fitness to the ability to register their trucks. PRISM links the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration's (FMCSA) safety information with the state's motor vehicle registration process to achieve two purposes:

• To determine the motor carrier's safety fitness prior to issuing a registration plate, and

• To motivate the unsafe carrier to improve its safety performance through an improvement process and, where necessary, the application of registration sanctions.

The PRISM program includes two major processes, the Commercial Vehicle Registration Process (IRP registration) and enforcement that work in parallel to identify motor carriers and to hold them responsible for the safety of their operations.

The performance of unsafe carriers is improved through a comprehensive system of identification, education, awareness, data gathering, safety monitoring and treatment.

Commercial Vehicle Registration Process:

The International Registration Plan (IRP) commercial vehicle registration process of the states provides the framework for the PRISM program and serves two vital functions. First, it establishes a system of accountability by ensuring that no vehicle is plated without identifying the carrier responsible for the safety of the vehicle during the registration year.

Second, the use of registration sanctions (denial, suspension and revocation) provides a powerful incentive for unsafe carriers to improve their safety performance.

The USDOT number is used to identify both the motor carrier responsible for safety and the individual vehicle registrant (if different). The carrier's safety fitness is checked prior to issuing vehicle registrations. Unfit carriers may be denied the ability to register their vehicles.

Carriers, registrants and owner-operators are given information on safety performance. Concerned carriers can take steps to improve their safety. If an owner-operator or a registrant lease to an unsafe motor carrier, the owner-operator or registrant is notified of the carrier's Motor Carrier Safety Improvement Process (MCSIP) status.

Enforcement:

Enforcement is the means by which carrier safety is systematically tracked and improved. The process is designed to improve the safety performance of carriers with demonstrated poor safety performance through accurate identification, performance monitoring and treatment. When a carrier is identified as needing improvement in safety practices, the carrier enters the MCSIP program. Within MCSIP, carriers with potential safety problems are identified and prioritized for on-site reviews using the Motor Carrier Safety Status (SafeStat) program. SafeStat makes maximum use of Accident, Driver, Vehicle and Safety Management data to develop an overall indicator of carrier fitness that is used to prioritize carriers for possible on-site reviews.

Chapter 9 FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

1. Q: Who needs an apportioned license plate?

A: Any vehicle with a registered gross weight exceeding 26,000 lbs., or having 3 or more axles regardless of the weight, operating outside the state of Kentucky needs an apportioned license plate. In addition, any vehicle doing intrastate hauling outside the state of Kentucky, regardless of registered gross weight, must have an apportioned license plate. In the case of apportioned license plates, intrastate hauling is defined as picking up a load in a state other than Kentucky, then dropping that same load in another location within that state. (Example: pick up a load in Toledo, Ohio and drop that same load in Columbus, Ohio.) In the case of intrastate haulers, vehicles of any weight, with the exception of passenger vehicles, must have apportioned license plates.

2. Q: What weight apportioned plates are available?

A: Apportioned license plates are available in the following weights: 6000, 10000, 14000, 18000, 22000, 26000, 32000, 38000, 44000, 55000, 62000, 73280, and 80000. This weight is the combined weight of the truck, trailer and load. This is also known as the taxable weight.

3. Q: What is a 2290? Do I have to have one?

A: The Form 2290 is the Schedule of Heavy Highway Vehicles. It is a tax that is collected by the Internal Revenue Service. You must have an E-file watermark or stamped 2290 (showing that the tax has been paid) for each vehicle that is 55,000 lbs. or greater that you have owned for 60 days or more. Please be aware that the Form 2290 must be in your own name. A copy of the 2290 must be uploaded to your IRP account during your renewal or when you add an applicable truck to your account.

4. Q: It's time to renew my apportioned license plates. What do I need to do?

A: If you've registered in our <u>Motor Carrier</u> <u>Portal</u> (and added a Primary e-mail address), you will receive a renewal checklist via e-mail. If there is no primary e-mail address on your IRP account, you will be sent a paper renewal checklist via mail. Both are sent 45 days prior to your IRP expiring.

5. Q: What is a cab card?

A: A cab card is the vehicle's registration and includes specific vehicle and motor carrier responsible for safety information and cannot be transferred from vehicle to vehicle. If you lose a cab card, you can log into your on-line account and reprint the document.

6. Q: My plate was lost or stolen. What should I do?

A: You must fill out a Lost or Stolen Affidavit (TC 96-xx). Please fill out the top of the form, have it notarized, and e-mail to <u>irp.dmc@ky.gov</u>. Please provide your IRP Account Number and e-mail address on a cover page.

7. Q: I sold my truck. Can I get a refund?

A: You can exchange/transfer the plate to add a vehicle. If the vehicle is being deleted off the fleet, mail the plate along with an affidavit (TC 96-167) and a portion of the Kentucky fees will be credited on your account to use towards the next transaction. If you are going out of business the carrier can request a refund which will be a prorated portion of the Kentucky fees.

8. Q: I sold my truck to my neighbor; can I transfer the plate to him?

A: No, apportion license are not transferable from one account to another. Your neighbor will have to obtain their own apportion license plate.

10. Q: I just bought a new vehicle. Do I have to pay usage tax on it?

A: Usage tax is paid on any vehicle with a combined gross weight 44,001 lbs. and under. This tax is paid at your local county clerk when you register the vehicle for the first time.

11. Q: How much does an apportioned license plate cost?

A: Cost varies according to weight of vehicle, vehicle type, vehicle year, type of operation and

previous year mileage. 80,000 lb. plates may cost approximately \$1,250.00 to \$2,500.00.

12. Q: How can I pay for my apportioned license plate?

A: Online 24/7 at <u>https://drive.ky.gov/motor-carriers/Pages/International-Registration-Plan.aspx</u> via credit card (4% service fee) or ACH debit (\$3.00 flat fee), a check can be mailed with a copy of the IRP invoice.

13. Q: The IRP office faxed me a temporary permit, but I'm afraid to drive my truck without a plate on it. Is this really legal?

A: Yes. It's perfectly legal to haul loads with a temporary permit. If you have a temporary in your truck, then you may drive in any state without a plate if you have a valid temporary permit.

14: Q: What are "Required Materials"?

A: Required Materials are documents that must be uploaded directly to your IRP account. These documents could be a 2290, an operational lease agreement or an affidavit. As Kentucky is a participant in the IRP program, we are required to adhere to the guidelines of the IRP plan. The required documents ensure compliance and are mandated by IRP, Inc. Once the documents are uploaded, the message "required materials are missing", will remain displayed until the documents have been reviewed/approved by IRP staff, but you may continue and complete the transaction. Only upload documents once. Check uploaded documents by clicking "Other Actions" menu in the upper right-hand corner of the page.

> Chapter 10 CONTACT INFORMATION

KYTC office hours are 8:00am -5:00 pm EST. Contact via phone through our call center at 502-564-1257

For One Stop Shop walk-in hours and services, visit our website below (take note services provided and limited hours may apply.

https://drive.ky.gov/Pages/One-Stop-Shop.aspx#motor-carriers

