The primary purpose of State Traffic School is to promote safe and responsible driving. The goal of State Traffic School is to provide an educational program which renews a driver’s outlook regarding traffic safety and to instill a positive attitude toward highway and traffic safety by encouraging an understanding and recognition of personal driving behaviors which will result in a reduced number of deaths and injuries related to vehicular crashes and moving hazardous violations.

 Approved Options​

The Division of Driver Licensing now offers two approved options for completing the program:

 Online (Internet)

To complete traffic school online, visit https://www.myimprov.com/traffic-school/kentucky/ and sign up for the online version of the Kentucky State Traffic School course. This course can be completed 100% online. The internet course will provide the same point reduction and license reinstatement benefits as the classroom course. The cost is $39.00 and it must be completed within 30 days of the driver's referral/conviction date in order to avoid suspension of driving privileges.

 Kentucky State Traffic School Online​ 

 Note: Before the driver can enroll in the online course, they must first receive a traffic school enrollment letter from the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet.​

 Classroom Instruction

State Traffic School classes last 4 hours and are conducted at various times and locations throughout the Commonwealth. It can take up to six weeks (possibly longer for rural areas) for the driver to be scheduled for a class. If the driver does not complete the class on their scheduled date their license will be suspended. The cost is $15 and the driver must enroll within 30 days of their referral/conviction date in order to avoid suspension of their driving privileges. To enroll or reschedule a missed class online, please choose the appropriate option below.



 Warning: When a driver misses their scheduled Traffic School course, their license becomes suspended. Suspended drivers must contact the Division of Driver Licensing at (502) 564-1257 to reschedule a class.

 General Information

Benefits of Attending

  • Drivers receive information on Kentucky traffic laws.
  • Information is provided to assist drivers in improving both personal driving habits and defensive driving techniques.
  • No points assessed for the traffic violation for which the driver is attending State Traffic School.
  • Satisfy out-of-state citations, when applicable.

Topics Covered

  • Traffic laws in Kentucky
  • Driver licensing in Kentucky
  • Kentucky Driver Point System
  • Driving behavior
  • Highway safety facts
  • Traffic crash causation
  • Defensive and perceptive driving
  • Driving under the influence
  • Occupant protection and pedestrian safety

Eligibility

  • A driver cannot be under suspension at time of citation.
  • A driver cannot attend State Traffic School for a conviction carrying mandatory license suspension. A driver can only attend on minor traffic violations.
  • A driver can only complete State Traffic School once within a twelve-month period.
  • Non-licensed and Out of State drivers are not eligible to attend State Traffic School.
  • All State Traffic School referrals must come from the District or Federal court where the violation occurred.

Process

  1. The District Court where the citation was received must refer a driver to Kentucky State Traffic School. The District Court will send the referral to the Division of Driver Licensing.
  2. The Division of Driver Licensing will mail a letter to the driver's address printed on their license at the time of referral. Follow these instructions carefully to enroll in the class.
  3. Once referred to Kentucky State Traffic School, it becomes a court order. If the driver does not comply with the court order to attend traffic school, it will result in the suspension of the driver's driving privileges.
 Note: Make sure the address on the driver's license is correct. Many people that are referred to Kentucky State Traffic School get suspended because the address on their license is incorrect. It is a state law that any change of address must be made on the driver’s license within 10 days.

Can I Reschedule?

Drivers scheduled to attend a Kentucky State Traffic School class may reschedule one time. To reschedule, please visit sts.ky.gov/​.

 Warning: When a driver misses their scheduled Traffic School course, their license becomes suspended. Suspended drivers must contact the Division of Driver Licensing at (502) 564-1257 to reschedule a class.
 Important: Rescheduling Traffic School is discouraged, however if it is an emergency rescheduling will be taken in consideration.

How will STS appear on my Driving Record?

Kentucky State Traffic School attendance does not reflect on a driver's 3-year public driving record. It does, however, reflect on a driver's 5-year record (which is used by law enforcement, courts, and other government agencies).​

Please direct further questions to the Division of Driver Licensing at (502) 564-1257. A person with a hearing impairment may call Kentucky Relay at 711.

CDL / CMV Drivers

All moving convictions must be posted to the driving record if the driver is a CDL holder or the conviction occurred in a CMV. State Traffic School will prevent points from being assessed but will not prevent the conviction from appearing on the record.

Out of State Drivers

Drivers from other states that receive a ticket/citation in Kentucky are not eligible for Kentucky's State Traffic School program. Out of state drivers must contact the driver licensing bureau of their home state in order to determine traffic school eligibility.

Traffic School Times and Locations

The following locations offer Classroom Instruction for State Traffic School at the typically scheduled times:

​​Weekday Evening Classes ​(6:15 P.M. - 10:00 P.M.)

  • Barbourville
  • Bardstown
  • Benton
  • Bowling Green
  • Campbellsville
  • Catlettsburg
  • Cynthiana
  • Danville
  • Eddyville
  • Florence
  • Frankfort
  • Hazard
  • Henderson
  • Hopkinsville
  • Irvine
  • Lagrange
  • Leitchfield
  • Lexington/Nicholasville Road
  • London
  • Louisville/Hall of Justice
  • Louisville/Middletown
  • Louisville/Okolona
  • Louisville/Pleasure Ridge Park
  • Madisonville
  • Maysville
  • Morehead
  • Mt. Sterling
  • Newport
  • Owensboro
  • Paducah
  • Pikeville
  • Prestonsburg
  • Radcliff
  • Richmond
  • Shelbyville
  • Somerset
  • Williamstown

Weekday Morning Classes​ (9:00 A.M. - 12:45 P.M.)

  • ​Frankfort/Transportation Cabinet
  • Louisville/Middletown
  • Louisville/Okolona

Saturday Classes​

(Start times vary and will either be 8:30 A.M. - 12:15 P.M. or 1:15 P.M. - 5:00 P.M. unless otherwise noted below.)

  • Bowling Green
  • Erlanger (10:15 A.M.)​
  • ​Hopkinsville
  • Lexington/Nicholasville Road​
  • ​Louisville/Hall of Justice
  • Louisville/Middletown​
  • Louisville/Okolona​
  • Louisville/Pleasure Ridge Park​
  • ​Owensboro
​​​​​​​​​​