Welcome to KIIP, Kentucky's new ignition interlock program.
The passing of Senate Bill 85 introduced significant changes to the DUI and ignition interlock laws. This page will summarize the changes and explain the new processes associated with KIIP.
Important: The effective date of Senate Bill 85 is July 1, 2020. Anyone convicted on or before June 30, 2020, will need a Court Order from District Court. Contact KYTC at (502) 564-1257 for detailed instructions.
What is an Ignition Interlock Device (IID)?
An Ignition Interlock Device means a device certified by the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet (KYTC) that connects a motor vehicle ignition system or motorcycle ignition system to a breath-alcohol analyzer. This device will prevent a motor vehicle ignition or motorcycle ignition from starting and operating if a driver's breath alcohol concentration exceeds 0.02, as measured by the device.
- Under the new program, individuals will no longer apply to the court for interlock privileges but will apply directly to KYTC using the Ignition Interlock Application, TC 94-175. Additionally, KYTC is now the monitoring authority for program participants.
- Before SB 85, the court system denied DUI 1st offenders (with non-aggravating circumstances) access to the program. As of July 1, 2020, the KIIP is available to all drunk driving offenders.
- Drivers who apply and are approved in the KIIP are eligible for a reduction of their license suspension period.
- The ignition interlock program is compliance-based, meaning offenders will have to complete a 90-120 day period of driving sober as part of the mandated program to be eligible for suspension times.
Note: Those UNDER 18 years of age when cited for a DUI may utilize the ignition interlock device but will NOT be eligible for the incentive program.
The Court will report the conviction or suspension to KYTC
This can take a couple of days.
(844-535-7209) the following information:
- Ignition Interlock Application (TC94-175)
- Proof of a valid Kentucky vehicle registration (out of state drivers will need to provide valid registration from their state)
Note; If registration is NOT in the driver's name, a notarized letter is required from the owner
- Proof of Kentucky insurance (out of state drivers will need to provide proof of insurance from their state)
- Any other documentation required for the forms to be submitted
Go to a Driver Licensing Regional Office
to complete your application with the above forms.
A $40.00 Reinstatement fee is required and can be paid either at a Driver Licensing Regional Office
You will be provided a Letter of Approval
by either mail or E-mail.
Upon completion of the required compliance time, KYTC
will mail or email a Letter of Removal
to schedule the removal of the device. The Service Center will provide you with a Certificate of Removal
Take your Certificate of Removal
to a license issuing location to have a Non-Restricted License
issued. The cost of the license will depend on the type of license issued. A list of costs can be found here
After Obtaining an Ignition Interlock License (Restricted License)
Once an applicant obtains the ignition interlock license, he or she will be restricted to operating only a motor vehicle or motorcycle equipped with a functioning ignition interlock device, unless the person qualifies for an Employer Exemption (TC 94-190)
This restriction shall remain in place for the required suspension period of the DUI offense set forth by KYTC.
A participant wanting or needing to have the device removed permanently or temporarily must complete the Ignition Interlock Removal Request (TC 94-189).
To qualify for the reduction of suspension time, participants must be violation-free for either 90 or 120 consecutive days, based on their offense. Violating one (or more) of the following violations will result in the consecutive counting of days to start over:
- Failure to take any random breath alcohol test unless a review of the digital image confirms that a driver did not occupy the motor vehicle or motorcycle at the time of the missed test
- Failure to pass any random retest with a breath alcohol level of 0.02 or lower, unless a subsequent test performed within 10 minutes registers a breath alcohol concentration lower than 0.02, and the digital image confirms the same person provided both samples.
- Failure of the person, or his or her designee, to appear at the ignition interlock device provider when required for maintenance, repair, calibration, monitoring, inspection, or replacement of the device
- Failure to pay statutorily required fees (KRS 189A.340)
- Tampering with an installed ignition interlock device with the intent of rendering it defective
- Altering, concealing, hiding, or attempting to alter, conceal, or hide the person's identity from the ignition interlock device's camera while providing a breath sample
DUI suspension periods have changed. Before SB 85, the courts selected the suspension time from a date range based on the offense. As of July 1, 2020, KYTC administers a static suspension time based on the type of conviction. To view more information regarding DUI laws, please click here.
Frequently Asked Questions