APPLY FOR A KYU LICENSE
You must set up a
Kentucky Online Gateway account before applying for a
KYU number. If you have issues registering your account, refer to the
Kentucky Online Gateway FAQs.
KYU Numbers are issued immediately upon completion of the ONLINE
For assistance, view our
KYU Registration Guide or send questions to firstname.lastname@example.org.
If you are having technical issues processing an Online Application, you can print and mail in a completed
Kentucky Trucking Application Form. The paper application can take 10-14 business days to process, and you will only receive a KYU number after processing. Incomplete applications will be returned.
Farm plated vehicles are exempt from paying the KYU
KYU ELECTRONIC FILING
You must have a registered Kentucky Online Gateway account to file taxes electronically. If you have issues registering, refer to the Kentucky Online Gateway FAQs.
The KYU license requires quarterly tax filings regardless of travel for all qualified vehicles through KYU E-File.
If you did not travel during a quarter, you must file zero miles to avoid penalty, interest, and a revocation fee of $500
Update KYU inventory online through the Motor Carrier Portal. All qualified vehicles must be listed to avoid citations.
Acceptable payment methods include Credit Card or ACH.
Carriers can use KYU E-File to amend a return to increase reported miles. Contact the Division of Motor Carriers to amend a return to decrease reported miles.
REINSTATING A KYU LICENSE