The primary purpose of State Traffic School is to promote safe and responsible driving. The goal of State Traffic School is to provide an educational program that renews a driver’s outlook regarding traffic safety and to instill a positive attitude toward highway and traffic safety by encouraging an understanding and recognition of personal driving behaviors, which will result in a reduced number of deaths and injuries related to vehicular crashes and moving hazardous violations.
A driver cannot be under suspension at the time of the citation.
A driver cannot attend State Traffic School for a conviction carrying mandatory license suspension. A driver can only attend with minor traffic violations.
A driver can only complete State Traffic School once every twelve months.
Non-licensed and Out of State drivers are not eligible to attend State Traffic School.
All State Traffic School referrals must come from the Kentucky District or Federal court where the violation occurred.
- The District Court where the citation was received must refer a driver to Kentucky State Traffic School. The District Court will send the referral to the Division of Driver Licensing.
- The Division of Driver Licensing will mail a letter to the driver's address printed on their license at the time of referral. Follow the instructions listed in the letter carefully to enroll in the class.
- Once referred to Kentucky State Traffic School, it becomes a court order. If the driver does not comply with the court order to attend traffic school, it will suspend the driver's driving privileges.
Make sure the address on the driver's license is correct. Many people referred to Kentucky State Traffic School get suspended because the address on their license is incorrect. It is a state law that any change of address must be made on the driver’s license within 10 days.
1. Online (Internet)
To complete traffic school online, visit
https://www.myimprov.com/traffic-school/kentucky/ and sign up for the online version of the Kentucky State Traffic School course. This course can be completed 100% online. The internet course will provide the same point reduction and license reinstatement benefits as the classroom course.
The cost is $39.00 (non-refundable), and it must be completed within 30 days of the driver's referral/conviction date to avoid suspension of driving privileges.
KENTUCKY STATE TRAFFIC SCHOOL ONLINE
Before the driver can enroll in the online course, they must receive a traffic school enrollment letter from the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet.
2. Classroom Instruction
State Traffic School classes last 4 hours and are conducted at various times and locations throughout the Commonwealth. It can take up to six weeks (possibly longer for rural areas) for the driver to be scheduled for a class. If the driver does not complete the class on their scheduled date, their license will be suspended.
The cost is $15 (non-refundable), and the driver must enroll within 30 days of their referral/conviction date to avoid suspension of their driving privileges. Please choose the appropriate option below to enroll or reschedule a missed class.
Requirements for State Traffic School Zoom/Virtual Course Participation
- For Zoom/Virtual Class requirements, click here.
If the participant cannot meet all the above requirements, in-person completion of State Traffic School is recommended.
To enroll in a classroom course, please call 502-564-1257.
RESCHEDULING MY CLASS
Drivers scheduled to attend a KY State Traffic School class may reschedule one time. To reschedule, please call 502-564-1257
When drivers miss their scheduled Traffic School course, their license becomes suspended. Suspended drivers must contact the Division of Driver Licensing at
(502) 564-1257 to reschedule a class.
KENTUCKY POINT SYSTEM
See Kentucky Point System
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
Kentucky State Traffic School attendance does not reflect on a driver's 3-year public driving record. It does, however, reflect on a driver's 5-year record (which is used by law enforcement, courts, and other government agencies).
Please direct further questions to the Division of Driver Licensing at (502) 564-1257. A person with a hearing impairment may call Kentucky Relay at 711.
All moving convictions must be posted to the driving record if the driver is a CDL holder or the conviction occurred in a CMV. State Traffic School will prevent points from being assessed but will not prevent the conviction from appearing on the record.
Drivers from other states that receive a ticket/citation in Kentucky are not eligible for Kentucky's State Traffic School program. Out-of-state drivers must contact the driver licensing bureau of their home state to determine traffic school eligibility.