An Official Website of the Commonwealth of Kentucky
A Driver's License or ID card may be renewed online, by mail or by visiting any Driver Licensing Regional office.
Choose which option best fits your needs here!
RENEW ONLINE (Applicant will NOT receive a temporary document)
RENEW BY MAIL
RENEW IN PERSON
No documentation is required to renew a credential if the information on the current credential is up to date
If the driver is under age 21, the license expires 90 days after the driver's 21st birthday.
Age 21 and older, the license expires 31 days after the driver's birth date and may be renewed up to six months before the expiration date.
No testing is required for persons with expired credentials less than 5 (five) years.
(See SB 124).
Any driver whose credential is expired for more than five (5) years must start over as a new driver.
A Kentucky operator's license is valid for four (4) years or eight (8) years. (Eight-year credentials are only available for new standard licenses and REAL IDs.
View Real ID Pricing.
If you are renewing and updating a name or address on a credential, you will only be required to pay the renewal fee.
When drivers physically lose their Driver's License, permit, or identification card, they will need to request a replacement credential by mail or by visiting any Driver Licensing Regional office.
The Kentucky Transportation Cabinet (KYTC) is taking driver licensing to the next level by offering modern, secure services and more options to handle your licensing needs than ever before.
This traveling service brings all the services offered in Driver Licensing Regional Offices to local communities that don't have a regional office.
Experience all the benefits of a Driver Licensing Regional Office at a Popup Event, like:
Upgrade to a REAL ID license
Request an 8-year license if you are due to renew
Update your name or address
Renew your CDL
Popup events are only for residents of the county hosting the event.
The Kentucky Transportation Cabinet (KYTC) has teamed up with the Kentucky State Police and Department of Criminal Justice Training to launch a new online service that allows state license, permit, and ID holders to designate a preferred contact law enforcement can notify in the event the cardholder is involved in a vehicle crash or emergency situation. The service is free, and citizens can take advantage online or call the Transportation Cabinet at (502) 564-1257.
Register your Emergency Contact
Emergency Notice Fact Sheet