The No Pass/No Drive law (HB 32) was implemented on August 1, 2007. This legislation enacted by the Kentucky General Assembly, will apply to ALL students 16 and 17 years old who apply for a permit or license. It is important to understand that when a sixteen or seventeen year old appears at either a Driver Licensing Regional Office or the Circuit Court Clerk’s office to obtain an instructional permit or license, a School Compliance Verification Form must be presented verifying that the student is in compliance with No Pass/No Drive Law - KRS 159.051.
The public/private school students may obtain the School Compliance Verification Form from their school. All other 16 and 17 year old students may obtain the School Compliance Verification Form from their school district of residence. If a sixteen or seventeen year old does not present a school compliance verification form he/she will not be eligible to obtain an instructional permit or license.
When a sixteen or seventeen year old student, who has obtained a permit or license, drops out of school or is declared to be academically deficient, the schools will report electronically to the Division of Driver Licensing. The Division of Driver Licensing will suspend the student’s privilege to drive and notify the driver of the suspension. The schools will also report when a student is back in compliance with KRS 159.051 to the Division of Driver Licensing. The Division of Driver Licensing will reinstate the student’s driving privilege.
Frequently Asked Questions
Are all schools required to implement the NP/ND law?
Yes, including all public, private, home schools and Job Corps in Kentucky.
What does a student need from his/her school in order to get an original learner’s permit?
The school will issue a School Compliance Verification Form.
Does NP/ND only apply to 16 & 17 yr old students who receive their permit on or after August 1, 2007?
Yes, once a student reaches his/her 18th birthday, the law does not apply.
Can a student be reported to the Division of Driver Licensing as soon as the student reaches 9 unexcused absences?
Yes, the school can report as soon as the 9th absence occurs OR as soon as the student becomes academically deficient.
How long are students considered noncompliant?
Students are considered noncompliant until they become compliant or reach age 18.
If a student has already dropped out, graduated from high school or is working on their GED and is 16 or 17 years old, what do they need to take to the clerk offices to obtain their permit?
The regulation states that a minor shall submit to either a Driver Licensing Regional Office or the clerk one of the following: proof of graduation from high school, proof of having received their GED (transcripts only), or a School Compliance Verification Form.
When the School Compliance Verification Form is presented by the student at the time of permit issuance, will the student have to present the form again when they receive their license?
No. They will only present the form when they apply for their permit.
Where do students of private schools and home schools get the School Compliance Verification Form?
Private school students may obtain the form from the school. Home school students may obtain the form from the student's school district of residence after the home school has been registered with the local county Board of Education.
Are home schooled students required to submit the School Compliance Verification Form with an embossed seal?
No, home schools are not required to place an embossed seal on the School Compliance Verification form.
When will be a student be eligible for reinstatement due to a No Pass-No Drive suspension?
Students may re-apply for driving privileges at the end of the semester, which he/she enrolls in school and successfully completes the educational requirements (reference: KRS 159.051) OR when permit/license holder turns eighteen years of age or court orders to reinstate.