An Official Website of the Commonwealth of Kentucky
KIT is a fuel tax license for Kentucky based carriers that never leave KY with vehicles that have a combined licensed weight of 26,001 lbs. or greater or with power units that have 3 or more axles, regardless of weight.
If a KIT license is needed, complete the Kentucky Trucking Application form TC 95-1.
Paper applications may take 10-14 business days to process. Incomplete applications will be returned.
For questions regarding the KIT License, email firstname.lastname@example.org.
You must have a registered Kentucky Online Gateway account to file taxes electronically. If you have issues registering, refer to the Kentucky Online Gateway FAQs.
The KIT license requires quarterly tax filings regardless of travel for all qualified vehicles through KIT E-File.
If you did not travel during a quarter, you must file zero miles to avoid penalty, interest, and a revocation fee of $500.
Acceptable payment methods include Credit Card or ACH.